A number of municipalities will be spared the expense of an election after only one person vied for office during the filing period that ended Wednesday.

But there are some cases where voters will be called to the polls in April.

The Marshall County Election Board reported the City of Madill would not have an election, as Tom Austin was the sole filer for Seat 1 on the council. Neighboring Oakland had Samuel Q. Dishmon, Kaye Idleman and Leanna Denny file for Trustee, four-year term. Billy Pearce filed for Trustee, two-year term which is unexpired.

Leonard R. Nail, Kenneth Howard, Ophelia C. Cooper and Sally Swilling all signed up for Trustee four-year term in Kingston to round out Marshall County filings.

In Murray County, no elections will take place in April. Davis incumbents Brett Knight (at-large), Melvin Watts (Ward 3), Stan Jones (Ward 2) and Darryl McCurtain (Ward 1) all filed without opposition to retain their seats. Sulphur will seat Chad A. Hill in Ward 2 and Ronald Fondren in Ward 4.

Following a slow start in Love County, the number of filings picked up by Wednesday and the City of Marietta will have two races.

Charles Treadwell and Lenna Radde will vie for Ward 3 and Robert Dees will face off against Frances Lawson in Ward 2. Those running unopposed are Ron Jacobs in Ward 1, Wayne Bond in Ward 4, Virginia Ginni Knowles for City/Treasurer and Barry Stewart for City Marshall.