Peanut producers from across the state will gather Friday, March 15 for the 2013 Oklahoma Peanut Expo at Quartz Mountain Resort near Lone Wolf. The annual event, a collaborative effort of the Oklahoma Peanut Commission, Oklahoma State University, USDA/ARS and peanut sheller interests in the southwest, has become the state’s premier industry meeting drawing participants from across the southern US peanut belt. After a record-setting production year, the convention is appropriately themed “Building on Success”.

“The program is timely and the topics targeted to address current issues important to our producers,” said Joe D. White, Commission chairman and peanut producer from Frederick. “We were blessed with an outstanding crop last year,” White added. “As producers, we must be aware of all the factors that will influence the new crop, whether it is weather, markets, farm policy or production decisions. There is no better way to become informed than by attending the Oklahoma Peanut Expo.”

The meeting kicks off with a greeting from Third District Congressman Frank Lucas, Chairman of the House Committee on Agriculture. “Understanding farm policy will be key for our producers going forward,” said White. “Having the chairman address our group regarding the upcoming Farm Bill markup will set the stage for an outstanding program.”

Other program highlights include the peanut marketing outlook, peanut variety advances, disease and weed management; as well as promotion updates and an overview of long-term weather patterns. Producers will select nominees to represent Oklahoma on the National Peanut Board during a special 12:45 p.m. election.

The 10 a.m. to 3 p.m. event is open to everyone with an interest in peanuts. Expo registration, which includes lunch, is free and opens at 9 a.m. An exhibit area will provide opportunities for farmers to visit with input suppliers during the day.

At the conclusion of the conference, producers from Alfalfa, Blaine, Caddo, Canadian, Comanche, Cotton, Garfield, Grady, Grant, Jefferson, Kingfisher, Major and Stephens counties will caucus to nominate four peanut farmers. Two will be selected by Gov. Fallin to serve a three-year term, representing District 2, on the Oklahoma Peanut Commission effective July 1. Current Commissioners Duane Stevens of Anadarko and John Clay of Carnegie are eligible for nomination.

For additional information contact Mike Kubicek, Oklahoma Peanut Commission, at 405-275-5994 or