Before a joint session of the Legislature on Tuesday, the Oklahoma Gold Star Medal of Honor was presented to the families of two fallen Oklahoma servicemen. The honor is given to members of the military born in Oklahoma who have lost their lives in the line of duty, or in a combat zone, since Sept. 11, 2001.

Tuesday's ceremony, held on Oklahoma National Guard 45th Infantry Appreciation Day, marked the first time the state has presented the posthumous honor. Sen. Dan Newberry last year authored Senate Bill 1814, creating the Oklahoma Gold Star Medal of Honor. Newberry praised the recipients of the award for their devotion to duty.

"These men are heroes in every sense, and they deserve to be honored and remembered," said Newberry, R-Tulsa. "While we can never do enough to thank these men and their families, it is a tremendous privilege to be able to come together today and pay tribute to their bravery. We are humbled by their dedication, and eternally grateful for their sacrifice."

The families of Army Spc. Christopher D. Horton of Owasso, and Army 2nd Lt. Jared Ewy of Edmond were present to receive the honor. Both men were members of the Oklahoma National Guard's 45th Brigade Combat Team, and were killed in action in Afghanistan.