The Ardmore Tourism Authority is moving forward on a Wayfind Sign System after a previous setback.

During its meeting Thursday morning, the board approved an agenda item to advertise for bids on the system designed to make navigating the city easier. A previous attempt to solicit bids was unsuccessful, as the bids were deemed too expensive.

ATA President Mita Bates commended Bruce Cypert, city of Ardmore director of general services, for his help in allowing the organization to move forward with the project. Bates said the ATA was able to work with a company to develop some standards, which would allow for acceptable bids.

“We hope to get three or four bids back,” Bates said.

The ATA also approved an item to assume ownership of the Interstate Welcome Signs from the Chamber Foundation. The ATA had never assumed ownership, although it underwrote the signs. The project was run through the foundation so that grants could be solicited for the project. The Ardmore Beautification Council and Michelin take care of the signs for the ATA. Current expenses include an electricity bill of about $60 annually.

The board approved an incentive request from the HFV Wilson Center in the amount of $500 for the Color Me Crazy 5K run. There was a question of clarity regarding the number of overnight visitors involved in the run. After discussion, it was decided as a best practice that organizations asking for incentives be asked to include information regarding overnight visitors on their participant sign-up sheets.

In other ATA business:

• Janet Bateman, Ardmore Convention Center marketing director, said Discover Oklahoma was in Ardmore recently and will feature Café Alley March 8. She also said there will be an upcoming feature on Boutique Bella and Ardmore Emporium.

• There are some improvements planned for the convention center, which include new sinks, ending years of frustration. Bates said it has been an ongoing issue that has never been successfully resolved.

• The board approved Bob Humphrey as board chairman, Daniel Romo as vice chairman and David Woerz as treasurer.