Long recognized for excellence in athletics competition, the University of Oklahoma Athletics Department recognized an equally impressive record of academic excellence at the 16th annual Max Weitzenhoffer Scholar-Athlete Breakfast on Tuesday at the Molly Shi Boren Ballroom in the Oklahoma Memorial Union.


Nominated by coaches and other student-athletes, then selected by the OU Athletics Council, numerous student-athletes, coaches and members of the OU faculty were honored in front of an audience of nearly 400 people, a crowd made up primarily by academic-award-winning student-athletes. OU President David L. Boren and OU Vice President for Intercollegiate Athletics Programs and Athletics Director Joe Castiglione presented more than 40 academic, community and achievement awards.


Five student-athletes were honored with multiple awards, including Sallie McLaurin of volleyball (four awards), Gabe Ikard of football (three awards), and wrestling’s Kendric Maple, baseball’s Drew Krittenbrink and gymnastics’ Lara Albright (all two awards).


Below is a list of the awards given at the breakfast and the corresponding recipients.



Athletic Director’s Leadership Award


Each year this award, chosen by Castiglione, is given to student-athletes who demonstrate extraordinary leadership while representing OU and their team. Leadership qualities include considered in this award include mental toughness, ability to work with others, giving respect and gaining the respect of others and integrity and accountability.


Sallie McLaurin (Volleyball)


Trey Millard (Football)



The Most Inspiring Faculty


Awarded to faculty members who have motivated and inspired student-athletes. These honorees are nominated by student-athletes and are chosen by the Student-Athlete Advisory Executive Committee.


Dr. Eddie Baron (Professor in Physics and Astronomy)


Leah Hoffman (Instructor in Health and Exercise Science)


Dr. Owen Kulemeka (Professor in Journalism and Mass Communication)



The Conference Medal


Each Big 12 institution may award a Conference Medal Award annually to a male and female student-athlete who has completed his/her athletic eligibility and who has made the most outstanding record in athletics and scholarship, exemplifying what it means to be a “student” and an “athlete.” This year’s winners were both recently awarded NCAA postgraduate scholarships, they were both Academic All-Americans and named Big 12 Scholar-Athletes of the Year for their sports.


Gabe Ikard (Football)


Sallie McLaurin (Volleyball)



Dan Gibbens Outstanding Scholar-Athlete of the Year Award


Bestowed upon student-athletes who have attained the highest level of scholarly and athletic success in the prior calendar year. Scholarship is to be measured by appropriate indices and academic attainment including grade point average. Athletic success is to be measured by overall athletic performance. It is named for Dan Gibbens, who served as OU’s Faculty Athletics Representative for over a quarter century, and worked diligently on behalf of student-athlete welfare.


Lara Albright (Women’s Gymnastics)


Brandon Doughty (Track and Cross Country)


Gabe Ikard (Football)


Kendric Maple (Wrestling)


Sallie McLaurin (Volleyball)


Kim Moldenhauer (Rowing)


Kristen Rice (Track)


Kaitlyn Rohrback (Women’s Golf)


Jessica Vest (Softball)


Kathryn Watson (Soccer)



Athletics Council Achievement Award


Honors student-athletes who have overcome great personal, academic, or emotional odds to achieve academic and athletic success. They have persevered to overcome difficult situations.


Lauren Alexander (Women’s Gymnastics)


Drew Krittenbrink (Baseball)


Raymond White (Men’s Gymnastics)



Athletics Council Service Award


Given to student-athletes who have made important contributions to the community through their commitment to service.


Jed Barnett (Football)


James Fraschilla (Men’s Basketball)


Tim Hamilton (Wrestling)


Amanda Johnson (Women’s Golf)


Sallie McLaurin (Volleyball)


Cole Stevens (Baseball)


Kaylon Williams (Women’s Basketball)


Whitney Wofford (Women’s Tennis)



Jay Myers Award


Given to freshmen student-athletes who best combine excellence in scholarship with potential excellence in athletics.


Allan Bower (Men’s Gymnastics)


Jacob Burcham (Track and Cross Country)


Chayse Capps (Women’s Gymnastics)


Morgan Chumney (Women’s Tennis)


Jordan Evans (Football)


Paige Jacobs (Soccer)


Emilio Maurer (Men’s Golf)


Kelsey McKee (Track and Cross Country)


Austin O’Brien (Baseball)


Micaela Spann (Volleyball)


Taylor Spencer (Rowing)



Sooner Schooner Scholastic Award


Given annually to a senior football letterwinner who has maintained the highest GPA throughout his years of participation.


Gabe Ikard (Football)



Prentice Gautt Award


Established by the Oklahoma House of Representatives and awarded annually by OU's Black Student Association, the award honors a male and female student-athlete who demonstrate the dignity, integrity and strength of character reminiscent of Prentice Gautt, Oklahoma's first African American scholarship athlete.


Portia Durrett (Women’s Basketball)


Kendric Maple (Wrestling)



Big 12 Gerald Lage Academic Achievement Awards


Initiated in 2011, the Gerald Lage Award is the Big 12 Conference's highest academic honor. It is named for Dr. Gerald Lage, who was the Faculty Athletics Representative at Oklahoma State University from 1983-2007. To be eligible for this award, students must have earned 100 hours with a 3.80 GPA, be a letterwinner, and must be in residence at their institution for at least one academic year. Students may only receive this recognition one time


Lara Albright (Women’s Gymnastics)


Marilyn Kozlowski (Rowing)


Drew Krittenbrink (Baseball)


Emmie Preskitt (Rowing)


Carrie Whigham (Soccer)



Athletics Council Academic and Student Life Award for Coaches


Presented to a coach for exemplary encouragement of the personal development and academic achievement of student-athletes through principles of life skills.


Patty Gasso (Softball Head Coach)



CHAMPS/Life Skills Team Competition


The team receiving this award has earned the most competition points by attendance at life skills events, athletics competitions and campus events as well as involvement in the community.