ADA — In the half-decade since its renovation, the historic McSwain Theatre has hosted a slew of Country music legends, entertainers on the rise, children’s plays, family movies and much more.

Jae L. Stilwell and Crossover, the McSwain house band, along with talented area entertainers, present a monthly show packed with crowd-pleasing hits, solidifying the McSwain Theatre’s reputation as a premier location for entertainment in Ada and surrounding areas.

The tradition of highlighting local talent continues this month as the 2014 Grand Awards Show gets underway Saturday with the preliminary “16 and Under,” and “Group and Gospel” round.

Ada-based band “Red River,” named “Entertainer of the Year” and top group act last year, will return to defend their title at the 2014 Grand Awards Show.

Duo Gary McCarter and Carlee Eaton, Tishomingo and McAlester; Wiley Winters and Missy Rude, Paoli and Pauls Valley; “Heartland Sweethearts,” Ada and Edmond; Anne Young and Donna Marie, Richardson, Texas and Ada; Lauren Lee and Liberty Road, Holdenville; Jimmy Tignor and Tom Schultz, “Gun Shy” and “Injunuity,” all of Ada, will be competing with “Red River” for the top spot in the Group category.

Fifteen young talented Oklahoma vocalists will compete in the “16 and Under” preliminary round, including 2013 “16 and Under” winner Sierra Sikes, Choctaw; Emily Faith, Kingfisher; Aleah Howard, Elmore City; Maddox Ross, Choctaw; Ally McDaniel, Cement; Britney Rodgers, Lawton; Emily Sconyers, McCloud; Herrold Sisters, Tulsa; Jana Lee, Wilburton; Kaitlyn Daniels, Atoka; Macy Blackburn, Stratford; Macy McKown, Norman; Carlee Eaton, McAlester; MacKenzee Crosby and Skye Anne Purcell, both of Ada.

Gospel acts “A Servant’s Heart,” Clancy Davis, Deborah Butcher,  Ken Hancock and 2013 winner “Southern SONlight, all of Ada, Lori and Ray North, Seminole and Vondi Harding, Pauls Valley; will compete in the Gospel preliminary round.

The top-five artists in each preliminary will be determined by audience vote and advance to compete for top overall honors.

The overall winners in each category, as well as an Entertainer of the Year, will be selected by audience vote and announced at the Grand Awards Show Oct. 18.

Dates for the Preliminary Rounds are:

 Aug. 16: Male, Female Performer Categories  Sept. 20: Top 5 Show Tickets are now available.

Each concert ticket includes an awards show ballet, allowing ticket-holders to vote for their five favorites as well as a write-in choice for Entertainer of the Year.

To ask questions, contact the McSwain Theatre at (580) 332-8108 or online at 

The McSwain Theatre, owned and operated by the Chickasaw Nation, is located at 130 W. Main.