Governor Mary Fallin has announced the appointments of David Thompson, Phil Kennedy and Steve Mason to the State Capitol Repair Expenditure Oversight Committee. Confirmation from the Oklahoma Senate is not required.


Fallin’s appointees will join state Reps. Mark McBride, R-Moore, Earl Sears, R-Bartlesville, and R.C. Pruett, D-Antlers, who were appointed earlier by House Speaker Jeff Hickman.


The appointees are part of a nine-member bi-partisan committee, which will oversee the repairs to the Capitol. The remaining appointees will be from the Senate president pro tempore.


“I appreciate David, Phil and Steve for stepping up and taking on this challenge,” said Fallin. “Given their diverse backgrounds in finance, construction and engineering, I know they will work well alongside the leadership provided by the Oklahoma House and Senate as we proceed with restoring and rebuilding the State Capitol."


The committee is formed as a part of House Joint Resolution 1033, which also authorizes a $120 million bond issue over 10 years to pay for repairs and renovations to the Capitol building that was signed into law by Governor Fallin in May.