Six Oklahoma Highway Patrol Troopers from across the state were recognized today for heroism, valor or humanitarianism for incidents in 2012 in which they were involved:

• Trp Kyle Henson, Sallisaw, and Trp Cody Hyde, Muldrow - Humanitarianism

• Trp Michael Patnode, Oklahoma City, and Trp Kevin Sparkman, Oklahoma City - Heroism

• Trp Scott Shropshire, Claremore -Humanitarianism

• Trp Danny Long, Pauls Valley -Valor

“When you hear these Troopers’ stories and find out what they do on our behalf – and the dangers they face – it gives you such a feeling of pride in our Department of Public Safety,” said Chuck Mai, spokesman for AAA Oklahoma, the sponsoring organization. “The men and women of the Oklahoma Highway Patrol put their lives on the line for us each and every day.”

In addition, there awards were also presented. OHP Chief's Awards:

• Trp Tony Sessions, Major County - Humanitarianism

• Trp John Hambrick, Jr., Grady County - Humanitarianism

• Trp Sheldon Robinson, Tulsa County and Security Officer Freda Daugherty, Tulsa County - Humanitarianism

• Trp Brian McSlarrow, Ottawa County - Humanitarianism

• Trprs Chance Husted, Special Ops; Pat Fike, Special Ops; Mike Fike, Woodward County; James Crowder, Ellis County; Cody Rehder, Ellis County; and Phillip Ludwyck, Woodward County - Humanitarianism

• Lt. Randy Rogers, Pittsburg County - Community Service

• Trp Shawn Cummings, Public Affairs Div. - Community Service

• Trp Jennifer Fisher, Oklahoma County - Community Service

• Lt. Scott Hampton, Bryan County, and Trp Kyle Ince, Bryan County - Bravery

• Communications Officer David Hugueley, Oklahoma City, - Exceptional Service

DPS Civilian Awards for Exceptional Service:

• Lisa Poarch DPS Communications

• Glenda Fesler Records Management

• David Hope Driver License Division

• Mark Ledford Driver Compliance

• Rhonda Larson Systems Integration

DPS Civilian Awards for Teamwork:

• Size and Weights Permits Division

• Human Resources Division

DPS Civilian of the Year:

• George Prater Driver License Division