A flurry of activity dominated the final day of filing Friday in Carter County as office hopefuls threw their hat into the ring for political office.

Among the county offices, only Joe David McReynolds, County Commissioner District 1, will receive a new term without facing a race.

Democrat Dale Ott, County Commissioner District 3, will vie for re-election against Republicans Ron Smith of Lone Grove and Jerry Alvord of Wilson. Carter County Sheriff Milton Anthony, Democrat, will face Republican Boomer Blomgren in his re-election bid.

County treasurer Marsha Collins, a Democrat, drew a challenge from Republican John T. Lewis. And in the race for county assessor, Republican Vickie Babcock will face Democrat Kerry Ross.

A special election in Healdton for the at-large seat on the City Council drew a significant amount of interest, with five filing for the office. Linda Hill, Wayne Miller, Eric Gage, Kevin Pridemore and Larry Borbeau each filed for the seat, which is currently held by D.J. Brown.

At the state level, Sen. Frank Simpson, R-Ardmore, drew an opponent Friday, and will face Democrat Chequita Williams of Tatums. Rep. Pat Ownbey, R-Ardmore, did not draw an opponent. Rep. Tommy Hardin, R-Madill, will face Republican Kyle Reid Chatham and Democrat Jessica Pfau for the right to represent District 49 for a third term.

District Attorney Craig Ladd drew two challengers in his bid for re-election. Ladd will face fellow Democrat Ed Frock and Republican Kimberly Tressler.

A crowded field for the office of Carter County Associate District Judge grew larger with the addition of Bob Pinkerton. Pinkerton will face Thomas Baldwin, Tim Burson and Brett Morton for the office. District Judge Dennis Morris will face Aaron Taber in District 20 Office 1, while Wallace Coppedge will retain the District 20 Office 2 seat without opposition.

Todd Hicks and Gary Brown will face off for the Love County Associate Judge, while Gregory Johnson and Michael Haggerty will oppose each other for Marshall County Associate Judge.

Charles Migliorino and Aaron Duck retained the Johnston County Associate Judge seat and the Murray County Associate Judge seat, respectively, without opposition.

For national office, Anna Flatt took the plunge for a seat in the House of Representatives. Flatt, a Republican, will face incumbent Republican Tom Cole and Democrats Tae Si and Bert Smith.

As of 4:30 p.m. Friday, the surrounding county races stood firm from the previous day.

In Love County, all the incumbents remained unopposed. County treasurer Lorry Stilley, county assessor Cathy Carlile, and county commissioners Jerry McGill and Herschel Bub Peery were the only candidates to file.

In Murray County, county assessor Scott Kirby was the only one to file for the office. County treasurer Judy Well drew an opponent in Claire Rackley, and County Commissioner District 3 Darrell Hudson did not draw an opponent. Gary Kerns, Shane Cornbread Hale and Kent McKinley will all vie for the County Commissioner District 1 slot.

In Marshall County, assessor Debbie Croasdale and treasurer Laura Larkin retained their seats without opposition. County Commissioner District 1 Don Salty Melton also did not draw an opponent, while County Commissioner District 3 Chris Duroy drew a challenge from Sara Hunnell.

Johnston County was similar to Love County in that no one filed against the incumbents. County Commissioner District 1 Roy Wayne Blevins and Commissioner District 3 Melvin Farmer each will retain their seat, as well as assessor Guyla Hart and treasurer Rana Smith.