The Oklahoma State softball program released its schedule for the upcoming 2016 fall season that includes eight home games, including a doubleheader against Arkansas on Oct. 23, head coach Kenny Gajewski announced today.



The Cowgirls start the fall season at Cowgirl Stadium against Southern Nazarene on Sept. 23.


OSU returns to action at Cowgirl Stadium Sept. 30 to start its softball alumni weekend against Cowley County. The Cowgirls will host a tailgate the following day before the Oklahoma State football game against Texas, with the OSU softball alumni game that Sunday.


The Cowgirls welcome Butler County Community College to Stillwater Oct. 6 before returning to action for another home game Oct. 13 against Conners State College.


Seminole State College makes a trip to Stillwater on Oct. 18 before the Cowgirls host NOC-Enid at Cowgirl Stadium Oct. 20.


OSU concludes the fall schedule with a doubleheader against Arkansas in Stillwater on Oct. 23.


Coming off a season in which the Cowgirls finished 32-26 in Gajewski’s first year in Stillwater, OSU returns 12 players and seven position players who started 40 or more games, including Big 12 Player of the Year and All-American Vanessa Shippy.


Seniors Shea Coats and Brandi Needham also return to the circle to lead the Cowgirls after combining to win 13 games last season. Christina Biggerstaff and Whitney Whitehorn, who redshirted last season, also return to help solidify the Cowgirl pitching staff.


OSU welcomes 11 new faces to the program, including the NJCAA Female Student Athlete of the Year in Rylee Bayless.


Fans can follow the Cowgirls on Twitter (@CowgirlSB), Instagram (Cowgirl Softball) and Facebook (Cowgirl Softball).


2016 Softball Fall Schedule


Sept. 23 – Southern Nazarene (Stillwater) 6 p.m.

Sept. 30 – Cowley County (Stillwater) 6 p.m.

Oct. 6 – Butler County (Stillwater) 6 p.m.

Oct. 13 – Connors State (Stillwater) 6 p.m.

Oct. 18 – Seminole State (Stillwater) 6 p.m.

Oct. 20 – NOC-Enid (Stillwater) 6 p.m.

Oct. 23 – Arkansas (Stillwater) 1 p.m.