The filing period for county and state offices ended at 5 p.m. Friday. While the Oklahoma State Election Board reported record numbers of candidate filings, all but one Carter County specific position will be filled by the incumbent, said Carter County Election Board Secretary Diane Hall.
As detailed State Election Board records only go back to 2000, the Board could not verify that this filing period amassed the most candidates in history. They did confirm this year’s 794 candidates is the highest number of filings since 2006 with 594 total candidates.
Statewide totals for positions filed with the State Board include 329 Republicans, 230 Democrats, 14 Libertarians, 23 Independents and 198 non-partisan (judicial) for a total of 794 according to the Board’s database. Three have withdrawn as of 3 p.m. Friday. Candidates have until Tuesday at 5 p.m. to withdraw their candidacy. The deadline for a candidate to challenge another’s candidacy is also 5 p.m. Tuesday. The Board will hear contests on Monday, April 23, at the Capitol.
Filing for District Judge in Judicial District 20 are Dennis Morris for Office 1 and Wallace Coppedge for Office 2. Both are unopposed. Judge Thomas Baldwin filed for Carter County Associate District Judge, also unopposed.
Other area Judges who filed unopposed include Todd HIcks of Love County, Laura Corbin of Johnston County,  Aaron Duck of Murray County and  Gregory Johnson of Marshall County.
Carter County District Attorney Craig Ladd, Republican, also filed unopposed for Oklahoma Judicial District 20.
For District 14 State Senator, incumbent Frank Simpson, R-Ardmore, drew opposition from both Joe Caudle, R-Sulphur,  and Justin Arledge, D-Ardmore.
Several candidates filed for the State Representative seat in District 48, including Cheryl Key, D-Ardmore, Jordan Buck, D-Wilson, Tammy Townley, R-Ardmore, Jason May, R-Ardmore, and Brent Phelps, R-Ardmore. For the District 49 House seat, three candidates filed: Vicki Gaylor, D-Kingston, Miranda Shelton, D-Kingston, and incumbent Tommy Hardin, R-Kingston.
Three Carter County offices filed unopposed last week, including County Commissioner for District 1 Joe David McReynolds, County Treasurer Marsha Collins and County Assessor Kerry Ross.
Incumbent County Commissioner for District 3, Jerry Alvord, Republican, will run against Jon Pass, Democrat. As there is no primary necessary, they will go head to head for the District 3 seat in the November general election.
Carter County currently has 28,782 registered voters according to the Election Board’s records. Love County has 5,849, Marshall County 7,787 and Murray 7,433. Oklahoma residents may register to vote at any tag agency, election office, or at state agencies who offer the form, such as DHS and the Health Department. The form can also be obtained online at The deadline to register for the upcoming June 26th election is Friday, June 1. To request an absentee or mail in ballot, the deadline is June 20. Those who will turn 18 in the 60 days leading up to an election may submit their application to register 25 to 60 days before the election. Those registered as Independent in the state of Oklahoma  may vote in primary elections for the Democratic party per the party’s agreement to allow those voters to participate in their elections through 2019. Changes to name or address of any registered voter may be made during the open registration period by completing a new application. Changes to party affiliations cannot be made from April 1 to August 31 in even-numbered years. Changes filed during periods where County and State Election Boards are not issuing new voter registration cards will be processed after the end of said period. For more information contact your local Election Board office or access the State Board’s website at