When the filing period for area elected officials ended Wednesday afternoon, in most cases only one person signed up to run. Of the many seats available, there will be only two races, the seat for Ward 5 in Lone Grove and the position of street commissioner in Wilson. Two seats, Healdton’s Ward 4, and a position on the Ratliff City Board of Trustees did not receive any candidates.

Ward 1 — Northeast, Beth Windel will be joining the Ardmore City Commission for her first term when the next session begins on May 6.
“I am excited about the future of Ardmore. I’ve made this my home since 2006, and I’m excited to be here. I’d like to make it easier to access city government and just bring a different perspective to the City Commission,” Windel said.

Ward 4 — Southeast, Mayor Sheryl Ellis will retain her seat as commissioner. However, the commissioners will be voting for the new mayor during the May 6 meeting. Each mayor serves a one-year term starting at the beginning of each new session.
Ellis, who has served on the commission since 1998, said she has always remained active in the community.
“I think everyone needs to serve in their community,” Ellis said. “I’ve been involved even as far back as in high school when I was in the student council, Voice of Democracy, and those type of organizations. I’ve just always had an interest in community affairs. In fact, before I joined the Ardmore City Commission, I was active in Main Street.”

Incumbents will retain all seats that were open for election.
Ward 1 will be held by Jarren Preston. Ward 3 will be held by Aaron Custer, and the position of clerk/treasurer will be held by Deborah Preston.

Seat 1 will be Richard Schofield. Seat 3 will be Rick Pender.

Lone Grove
The residents of Lone Grove’s Ward 5 will go to the polls on April 2 and choose between incumbent Mickey Davis and challenger Jason Pinkerton.
Davis has held the position for nine years and said there are many projects the council is working on that he would like to see to completion before he retires.
“This is my hometown,” Davis said. “I’ve lived here all my life other than for two and a half years when my job took me away for a short time. I love my town and I try to do what I can to improve it.”
Pinkerton, another Lone Grove native, currently serves on the city’s planning and zoning board, and this is will be his third run for city council.
“I just want to help improve the community and bring new business to Lone Grove,” Pinkerton said.

Ratliff City
Incumbents Bob Davis, Doreetha McLemore and Micah Newell will retain their seats on the board of trustees. The fourth seat that has been unoccupied for over seven years will remain unoccupied.

The three positions available on the Springer Board of Trustees will be held by JoAnn Norman, Gary Walker, and Judy Cavnar.

Two candidates, Michael Burgess and Randall Chapman, will face off for the position of street commissioner which has been open for four years. As of press time, neither candidate had responded to a request for comment.
Incumbents will retain their positions with David Newby in Ward 1, Juanita Seagroves in Ward 3, Ann Marutzky will be city clerk/treasurer and Interim Chief Kevin Colely will be chief of police.