The cost of college can put many people into a panic, but two area high school seniors can breathe a little easier after receiving several scholarships. Nathan Dethloff and Coby Harris have received nearly $18,000 in scholarships from the Oklahoma City Community Foundation.

According to a release from the foundation, Dethloff is a senior at Lone Grove High School and received two awards. The H.W. Almen West OKC Rotary Scholarship is a $4,000 award offered to graduating Oklahoma high school seniors. The Carolyn Watson Opportunities Scholarship is an award up to $12,000 per academic year for graduating seniors from rural Oklahoma high schools.

Dethloff plans to attend Oklahoma State University next fall.

Harris is a senior at Ardmore High School and was awarded the Dr. Eugene S. Briggs Memorial Scholarship, an award of up to $3,000 offered to graduating Oklahoma high school seniors. Harris plans to attend Southeastern Oklahoma State University.

The pair has been awarded scholarships by the Oklahoma City Community Foundation, a non-profit group that has worked with donors across the state for 50 years. The scholarship program began in 1990 with 20 awards and has grown to more than 800 awards each year.

“Whether our donors are memorializing a loved one through the gift of education or are passionate about enhancing educational opportunities, we are thankful they are devoted to bettering the future for deserving students throughout our great state,” said foundation president Nancy Anthony in a Monday statement.

“Student loan debt in the U.S. continues to soar, but thankfully so does the number of donors who are invested in furthering education in our community,” she said.

Beginning today, high school students from all 77 Oklahoma counties may be eligible to apply online for scholarships for next year. To learn more about the scholarships available through the Oklahoma City Community Foundation, visit