SHAWNEE — In the same setting where the dual state tournament will be held, six area wrestlers showed their championship pedigree Friday and Saturday at Firelake Arena.

Two-time defending state champion Plainview crowned four individual Midwestern Conference champions: Jaxson Roney, Ty Lucas, Garrett Willis and Bodie Davis.

Madill’s Zane Crisp won a conference title of his own, as did Sulphur’s Dan Baker.


Quintarius Horton and Endeavor Riley had solid showings on the mat with each Tiger taking home runner-up honors.

Horton pinned each of his first three opponents in the first before losing the 145-pound first-place match to Blanchard’s Jaxon Stratton by a 5-1 decision. 

Riley mirrored Horton’s path to the final with pins in each of his first three matches. Riley lost by pin to two-time defending state champion Ty Lucas of Plainview in the championship bout.

Jordan Enabnit earned 10 team points for Ardmore with his sixth-place finish at 220 pounds. 



Crisp was crowned a Midwestern Conference Tournament champion after he pinned Durant’s Trever Wann 26 seconds into the third period of the 220-pound.

Crisp was one of six Wildcats who earned a podium finish. 

Isaac Eades (106) and Will Shelby (126) battled to runner-up honors.  

Three Wildcats wrestled to bronze. 

Luis Gutierrez (106) stormed back to win his last four matches after he lost an 8-2 decision to Plainview’s RJ Gann in the quarterfinals, good for third place at 106. Damian Ramirez (113) defeated Newcastle’s William Lemons by an 8-2 decision in they third-place match. Dylan McCullough (132) won four of five matches.



Two returning state champions, Roney (120 pounds) and Lucas (152), look just as every bit ready to compete for another one. 

Roney won all four matches in Shawnee in dominant fashion: three consecutive pins and a 10-2 major decision of Bridge Creek’s Kolton Smith in the final. 

Lucas improved to 20-0 after his first-period pin of Ardmore’s Endeavor Riley in the first-place match.

Willis (160 pounds) snagged Plainview’s third championship after rolled to a 9-3 decision of Little Axe’s Wyatt Johnson in the final.

Davis squeezed out a 6-5 decision of Noble’s Danny Areblao to walk away with first place at 182.

Eli Paul scored 23 team points with his second-place finish at 170. 

Zane Miller (195) went 3-1 to earn runner-up honors. 

Connor O’Neal (220) bounced back from a loss to Crisp in a semifinal to notch bronze. He pinned Bethel’s Cole Akins in the third-place match.

Gann (106 pounds) and Andrew Vercelli (138) both placed sixth.  



Baker looked rather dominant as he wrestled to top honors at 195 pounds. He cruised to a 16-7 major decision of Miller in the title match.

Trey Kiser took third at 170. 

Caleb Pierce won three of five matches for fourth place at 106. 

John Miller won three of his first four bouts, good for sixth at 120. 

Luke Henry rode three consecutive wins in the consolation bracket to a sixth-place showing at 160. 

Nash Moore, like Henry, picked up three wins on the back end of the bracket to earn sixth at 182. 

Heavyweight Korby Garcia started with two first-period pins but was forced to injury forfeit each of his last three matches. He placed sixth.