As the story unfolds,
start here.
99¢ per month. Save 90%.

The finishing touch

Evan Grice
Plainview's Blake Nowell fights to get away from a Verdigris defender during the state semifinals at Noble High School. Nowell was named as the District 3A-2 Most Valuable Player on the All-District awards list.

It would be hard to argue that there was a more competitive or successful district in football this season than District 3A-2.

With Plainview claiming the Class 3A state runner-up, along with Sulphur making yet another playoff appearance as well as Lone Grove having a strong season, there was no shortage of competition or talent amongst area schools.

Recently, the All-District awards list was released for 3A-2, with all three local schools being well represented.

Plainview’s own Blake Nowell was named as the Most Valuable Player, after an outstanding senior season for the Indians.

Nowell finished the year with 54 passes for 1,059 yards and 12 TDs. He averaged 19.6 yards per reception and he carried the ball 23 times for 168 yards and five touchdowns. On defense Nowell recorded 12 tackles, five pass breakups and one interception. He also scored on two kickoff returns with his longest being a 92-yarder.

Fellow Indians teammate Brock Parham was named as the Offensive Player of the Year, while Defensive Player of the Year honors were given to both Plainview’s Tyler Berryhill and Sulphur standout Tavius McDonald.

OSU bound Eli Russ racked up another award for Plainview as he was named the Offensive Lineman of the Year.

Lone Grove’s own J.J. Barnes was a Co-Offensive Back of the Year as he shared the honor with Purcell’s Addison Love.

Plainview’s own Jake Guerin shared the Defensive Back of the Year award with Purcell’s Nick Albright, while Indians teammate Trevor Burton was named Linebacker of the Year.

Kenny Sutherlin was named as the Special Teams Player of the Year for Plainview, while Indians head coach Joe Price earned the Coach of the Year honors.

Lone Grove was represented on the first team offense by Colton Jones (Quarterback), Juan Martinez (Offensive Line), Braiden Lee (Offensive Line), and Mark French (Offensive Line).

Sulphur was represented on the first team offense by Price Daube (Tight End) and Andy Carter (Offensive Line).

Plainview was represented on the first team offense by Tyson Al-J’Bour (Running Back) Jaxon Clemons (Running Back), Payton Webber (Wide Receiver) and Cody Marr (Offensive Line).

Adam Greisman and Zane Campbell along with Joe Black and Reece Sommerville all earned first team defensive honors for Plainview at the defensive lineman, linebacker and defensive back positions.

Josh Watterson and Ethan Massey earned first team defensive honors for Sulphur at the defensive lineman and defensive back positions.

Trevor McKnight and Ty Clemons were both first team defensive selections for Lone Grove at the linebacker and defensive back positions.

Honorable mention selections for Lone Grove went to Michael Ramsey, Cameron Henry, and Isaac Pool.

Plainview’s honorable mention selections were Drake Sizemore and Layne Davis, while Sulphur was led by Kordo Standifer, Zac Stinson, and Brad Lancaster as honorable mention selections.